Meet our Board of Directors

Dr Doreen Barrie, Chairperson

Doreen Barrie is an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Political Science Department at the University of Calgary. She authored The Other Alberta: Decoding a Political Enigma and wrote a biography on Ralph Klein for the book Alberta Premiers of the Twentieth Century.  She did the study on Party Financing in Alberta for the Royal Commission on Electoral Reform and Party Financing and has written Sacred Trust or Political Football: A Citizen’s Guide to Canadian Health Care. She was the first Canadian President of the Western Social Science Association.

Michael I. Wylie, Treasurer

Michael Wylie is retired. Prior to his retirement, Mike was a senior partner with Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP and a member of the Banking Group. Before joining Norton Rose Fulbright, Mike practised law in Lethbridge for six years and was a faculty member at the University of Calgary, Faculty of Law for 15 years. He was Dean of Law at the University of Calgary for five years. In addition to serving on the ACLRC Board, Mike has served on the Boards of the Sheldon Chumir Foundation for Ethics in Leadership and the Calgary Centre for Culture, Equity and Diversity.

Michael Greene Q.C., Director

Michael Greene, Q.C.  is a born and raised Albertan who practises law with Sherritt Greene Immigration Lawyers in Calgary and instructs Immigration and Refugee Law in the Faculty of Law at the University of Calgary. Michael is a past National Chair of the Canadian Bar Association's Citizenship & Immigration Section and former President of the Alberta Civil Liberties Association. He received the 1995 Suzanne Mah Award from the Alberta Human Rights Commission for “exemplary human rights, principles and ideals in the practice of law”.

Ola Malik, Director

Ola Malik is a municipal prosecutor with the City of Calgary. Ola serves on the board of Calgary Legal Guidance and as an executive member of the Alberta Branch of the Canadian Bar Association. Ola is a member of various organizations, including the Canadian Law and Society Association, the Alberta Women Lawyers Association, and the Trans Equality Society of Alberta. He is a strong promoter of The University of Calgary's Public Interest Law Clinic, and is actively involved in various access to justice initiatives.

Patricia Paradis, Director

Patricia Paradis is the Executive Director of the Centre for Constitutional Studies in the Faculty of Law at the University of Alberta where she manages the Centre's public legal education and research mandates. She has been a sessional lecturer in Human Rights Law in the faculty since 1996 and gives public lectures on human rights and constitutional matters.  Patricia has served on a number of Boards, notably the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund Board where she served as National Chair. 

David V. Wright, Director

David is an Assistant Professor and a member of the Natural Resources, Energy and Environmental Law Research group in the University of Calgary’s Faculty of Law. Prior to his faculty appointment, David held positions with Canada’s Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development, the Gwich’in Tribal Council, the United Nations Development Programme, the Government of Nunavut, the law firm of Stewart McKelvey, and the Marine and Environmental Law Institute at Dalhousie University. He holds an MA and JD from Dalhousie University and an LLM from Stanford University. During his graduate studies at Stanford Law School, David was a fellow with the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment.

Dr Edwin Webking, Past Chair

ACLRC's longstanding Board Chair, the late Dr Edwin Webking, served on the Board from 1984 to 2013. He made several contributions to Civil Liberties and Human Rights in Canada, Alberta and his hometown of Lethbridge. It is an honour to have known him. Click here to read more about his legacy.